Marine Animals

Marine Animals

Learn About Marine Life

About Manatees
About Otters
About Seals
About Sea Lions
About Sea Turtles
About Sharks
About Stingrays / Mantarays
About Walruses
Marine Coloring Pages
Marine Life Photo Gallery
Marine Animal Sounds

Marine Animal Gifts

Dolphin Gifts
Manatee Gifts
Otter Gifts
Seal Gifts
Sea Lion Gifts
Sea Turtle Gifts
Shark Gifts
Stingray Gifts
Walrus Gifts
Whale Gifts

Marine Life Education

Marine Life

The ocean is an amazing place with hundreds of different types of animal species. Take a look at some of the popular marine life.


Seals are aquatic mammals.

Seal are part of the family Pinnipedia. Pinnipedia means winged-feet and refers to the seal's flippers.

Seals Classification:

Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Family: Pinnipedia

Seals are divided into two families, the Phocidae, which includes the earless or'true'seals and the Otariidae, the eared seals (aka sea lions, furred seals).

Sub-species of Seals: There are 32/33 species of seals

True Seals

Baikal Seal - Phoca sibirica
Bearded Seal - Erignathus barbatus
Caribbean Monk Seal - Monachus tropicalis
Caspian Seal - Phoca caspica
Crabeater Seal - Lobodon carcinophagus
Grey Seal - Halichoerus grypus
Harbour Seal - Phoca vitulina
Harp Seal - Phoca groenlandica
Hawaiian Monk Seal - Monachus schauinslandi
Hooded Seal - Cystophora cristata
Grey Seal Halichoerus grypus
Leopard Seal - Hydrurga leptonyx
Mediterranean Monk Seal - Monachus monachus
Northern Elephant Seal - Mirounga angustirostris
Ribbon Seal - Phoca fasciata
Ringed Seal - Phoca hispida
Ross Seal - Ommatophoca rossii
Southern Elephant Seal - Mirounga leonina
Spotted Seal - Phoca largha
Weddell Seal - Leptonychotes weddellii

Eared Seals

Australian Sea Lion - Neophoca cinerea
California, Galapagos and Japanese Sea Lions - Zalophus californianus
New Zealand Sea Lion - Phocarctos hookeri
South American Sea Lion - Otaria flavescens
Steller Sea Lion - Eumetopias jubatus

Fur Seals

Antarctic Fur Seal - Arctocephalus gazella
Galapagos Fur Seal - Arctocephalus galapagoensis
Guadalupe Fur Seal - Arctocephalus townsend
Juan Fernandez Fur Seal - Arctocephalus philippii
New Zealand Fur Seal - Arctocephalus forsteri
Northern Fur Seal - Callorhinus ursinus
South African and Australian Fur Seals - Arctocephalus pusillus
South American Fur Seal - Arctocephalus australis
Subantarctic Fur Seal - Arctocephalus tropicalis

Size: Seals in a variety of shapes, sizes and colors. The smallest seal is the Galapagos fur seal, which measures 4 feet in length and weighs 65 bls. The largest seal is the Southern Elephant seal, which measures up to 13 feet in length and weighs up to 2 tons.

Habitat: Seals can be found in almost all ocean waters around the world, from the Arctic to tropical waters. Seals can be found in a variety of ocean habitats. The largest concentrations of seals are found in California and New England. Most seals are found in coastal waters and rocky shores.

Seal in Other Languages:

Czech: Lachtan / Tulen
Dutch: Zeehond
Estonian: HUljes
Finnish: Hylje
French: Phoque
Gaelic: Ron
German: Robbe / Seehund
Greenland: Puisi
Hungarian: Foka
Icelandic: Selur
Indonesian: Anjing Laut
Irish: Ron
Italian: Foca
Latin: Phoca
Latvian: Ronis
Lithuanian: Ruonis
Malay: Anjing Laut
Norwegian: Sel
Old English: Seolh
Old Norse: Kopr
Polish: Foka
Portuguese: Foca
Romanian: Foca
Scottish: Seal / Selch
Serbian: Tuljan
Slovenian: Tjulenj
Spanish: Foca
Swahili: Sili
Swedish: Sal
Turkish: Fok
Zulu: Umnyama

Diet: Seals are carnivores. Seals feed on smaller aquatic animals, including fish, crustaceans and squid, and some seal species feed on penguins.

Senses: Seals have a keen sense of smell in air.

Description: Like all mammals seals are warm blooded, the seals that are in cold waters have thick layers of blubber to keep them warm. Seals that live in warmer waters have less blubber. A seal's body tapers from the chest towards the tail. Seals can be brown, tan, white, or black, some species have mottled coloring.

Behavior: Seals spend about half of the time in water, and the other half is spent on land.

Did You Know?

Most species of seals return year after year to the same area.

Gestation: Seals carry their young 8 to 12 months, depending on the species.

Birth: Seals give birth on land. Seals typically give birth to a single calf at a time.The pups develop rapidly, with some able to swim within a few hours of birth.

Sexual Maturity: All eared and earless seals are polygamous. The mature bulls gather a harem of females. The size of the seal harem, ranges from 3 to 40 females.

Life Span: Most seal species live in the wild 20-40 years or more depending on the species. Predators of seals include sharks, orcas and polar bears.

Athleticism: Seals can swim up to 15 to 18 mph.

Crabeater Seal


Weddell Seal


Antartic Fur Seal

Seal Pup


Elephant Seal

Elephant Seal



Marine Animal Gifts


Copyright © 2011- 2021 DR Management
All rights reserved

Wild Animal Gifts
:: About Dolphins :: Sea Glass Gifts